1

I am looking for a word that could substitute "wear and tear" in a resumé.

The original was:

"Wear and tear inspection reports for the preliminary maintenance of tools and equipment."

I had found:

depletion, depreciation, erosion, ablation, attrition, consumption, decrement, dissipation, hard wear, overuse, ravages of time, wearing away, and weathering.

(None of them quite fit since I was talking about offshore drilling tools and equipment. In this case "upkeep" deals with the concept in a better way.)

5
  • In what context? What is the sentence/fragment which currently mentions wear and tear which you would like to change?
    – Andrew Leach
    Oct 11, 2013 at 13:58
  • As a list item on the description of tasks executed. It became "Upkeep inspection reports for the preliminary maintenance of tools and equipment."
    – SurvMach
    Oct 11, 2013 at 14:20
  • 1
    So which word replaced wear and tear?
    – Andrew Leach
    Oct 11, 2013 at 14:21
  • Your sentence as replaced sounds odd to this native American English speaker. If it were me, I would swap upkeep and maintain. "Maintain inspection reports for the preliminary upkeep of tools and equipment." Its just my opinion, but upkeep as a verb in your sentence just feels off.
    – Lumberjack
    Oct 11, 2013 at 16:50
  • 1
    Unless the snippet provided is a sentence fragment, and "upkeep inspection report" is a compound subject rather than a verb.
    – Lumberjack
    Oct 11, 2013 at 16:52

2 Answers 2

0

Depending on context, if you are discussing dealing with wear and tear of equipment, you might consider

  • maintenance
  • upkeep
  • service
  • overhaul
  • repair
  • conservation
  • support

SUPPLEMENT

In light of your edit, also consider condition.

12
  • Upkeep did it. Kudos.
    – SurvMach
    Oct 11, 2013 at 14:15
  • 2
    Upkeep is not a substitute for "wear and tear". The words in the list above are words that can refer to how tool degradation (wear and tear) is minimized or reversed. Oct 11, 2013 at 15:19
  • @Jim None of the words are actually synonyms for wear and tear but try to get to what I thought was the implied concept of prevention or correction of normal wear.
    – bib
    Oct 11, 2013 at 18:19
  • 1
    Sort of turns SE into a bizarre mess, if you ask me. So I had to point it out. I recommend that someone reword the question, then. Oct 11, 2013 at 19:08
  • @Jim You got it. It's been reworded.
    – SurvMach
    Oct 11, 2013 at 19:41
1

I actually think the expression wear and tear is the best one to use in the OP's résumé. It is recognized in legal contracts and it is commonly understood by all, the layman included.

But the OP could rephrase his original sentence to:

Responsible for monitoring the performance of tools and equipment.

This would include reporting any signs of poor performance due to:

  • deterioration
  • corrosion
  • wear
  • consumption
    and
  • aging

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.