3

I do not have a context for the idiom. All I know it is from/related to Chicago. I did not find this idiom online.

7
  • If you can't find it online are you sure it's an idiom? I'd expect for it to be part of something longer, e.g. "When it's 11am in Chicago, it is noon in New York" or "When it is noon in New York, it's 5pm in London". May 10 at 20:43
  • Yes, it was in a questionnaire (Do you know the idiom:. ..). Though, with no answer.
    – nyaki
    May 10 at 20:46
  • 6
    These kind of time zone sayings are usually used, tongue-in-cheek, to justify doing something before it’s deemed generally acceptable. In Chicago it might be too early to have a drink, but you could say, “But it’s noon in New York”. More typically, though, it’s “But it’s happy hour somewhere (in the world)”
    – Jim
    May 10 at 20:48
  • Because it was asked whether you know the idiom "..." and lived in Chicago. No further context apart from the Chicago clue.
    – nyaki
    May 10 at 21:03
  • 1
    @Cascabel I am ok with it. Though, I have the correct answer I suppose.
    – nyaki
    May 10 at 21:14