1

Suppose a group of friends are having a discussion and the turn comes to one of the friends who says the below sentence.

"I respect each and every one of you's opinions"

Is this sentence grammatically correct?

If it is, then is even "Each and every one of you's opinion also correct?

6
  • "Your" is the possessive form of "you".
    – Hot Licks
    Mar 7, 2017 at 2:03
  • @HotLicks - It’s not “Each and every one o’ y’all’s”?
    – Jim
    Mar 7, 2017 at 3:23
  • 2
    Each and every one of you is a syntactic constituent, just like someone else or the the Queen of England or that guy at the door is. As such, what’s happening here is that the possessive clitic is attaching to the end of that constituent. This can make for awkward phrasings that are probably better avoided in formal situations lest the guy at the door's wife should become angry with your grammar. See the linked duplicate. And no, the door has no wife.
    – tchrist
    Mar 7, 2017 at 5:39
  • It's better to say that you respect the opinion of each and every one of you. That way the door man's wife won't get all upset with you.
    – tchrist
    Mar 7, 2017 at 5:45
  • That cleared things up. :)
    – Shad
    Mar 7, 2017 at 19:50

2 Answers 2

2

"I respect each and every one of you's opinions" is NOT grammatically correct. It should be "I respect each and every one of your opinions". Or, I respect everybody's opinions.

from English Grammar Today

Pronouns: possessive (my, mine, your, yours, etc.)

We use pronouns to refer to possession and ‘belonging’. There are two types: possessive pronouns and possessive determiners. We use possessive determiners before a noun. We use possessive pronouns in place of a noun:

Is that [determiner]your scarf?

It’s very similar to [pronoun]mine. (It’s very similar to my scarf.)

That’s not [determiner]their house. [pronoun]Theirs has got a red front door.

It was [determiner]his fault not [pronoun]hers.

Typical errors:

We don’t use ’s after possessive pronouns:

Are those gloves hers?

Not: Are those gloves her’s?

’s is not used with the possessive pronoun its. It’s means ‘it is’:

The team is proud of its ability to perform consistently well.

Not: … proud of it’s ability …

We don’t use another determiner with a possessive determiner:

I’m going to get my hair cut this afternoon.

Not: … get the my hair cut …

We don’t use possessive determiners on their own. They are always at the beginning of noun phrases:

That’s not my book. It’s yours. (or It’s your book.)

Not: It’s your.

We don’t use possessive pronouns before nouns:

Lots of our friends were at the party.

Not: Lots of ours friends …

6
  • Does the Queen of England's hat belong to England or to the Queen? Or does England's hat now have a queen?
    – tchrist
    Mar 7, 2017 at 5:41
  • 1
    The Queen belongs to England and the hat belongs to the Queen! The Queen of England's daughter's hat = The hat of the daughter of the Queen of England. Mar 7, 2017 at 5:50
  • Certainly the hat belongs to the Queen, but I don't think that you can say that the Queen belongs to England; perhaps in former times the other way around, though, when England belonged to its Queen.
    – tchrist
    Mar 7, 2017 at 5:52
  • Can we say, the British Queen and the British Queen's hat? Mar 7, 2017 at 5:58
  • Yes. But people do not belong to countries in English. :)
    – tchrist
    Mar 7, 2017 at 6:00
0

You's or yous is the not standard plural of you. It is not part of the American or British common Dictionary. Therefore, outside of informal conversations it isn't considered valid English.

Sources: Dictionary.com, this painstakingly explained answer.

3
  • 2
    He wasn't using it as a plural. He was using it as a possessive. (But of course it's wrong for that as well.)
    – Hot Licks
    Mar 7, 2017 at 2:09
  • It isn't the possessive of you. It’s the possessive of the entire "each and every one of you".
    – tchrist
    Mar 7, 2017 at 5:40
  • Like vous in french
    – AP.
    Mar 7, 2017 at 14:56

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.