Vegetarian, non-vegetarian and in-between...?
Is there a word in-between "vegetarian" and "non-vegetarian"? Is there a different type of style of eating?
I want to know the word in English.
Flexitarian — Dictionary
noun 1. a person whose diet is mostly vegetarian but sometimes includes meat, fish, or poultry.
Also called semi-vegetarian — Wikipedia
Specific flexitarian diets include:
Pollotarian: someone who eats chicken or other poultry, but not meat from mammals, often for environmental, health or food justice reasons.
Pescetarian: someone who eats fish and/or other seafood, but not poultry or meat from mammals.
Pesco-pollo: someone who eats both poultry and fish/seafood, though no meat from mammals.
The macrobiotic diet is plant-based, and may or may not include the occasional addition of fish or other seafood
Semi-vegetarian is used (often in the same sense as flexitarian).
You can distinguish subspecies, like pescetarian (allowing fish and seafood with a vegetarian diet) is attested in Merriam-Webster since 1993.
Then, you have lacto-vegetarians (consuming dairy products, no eggs), ovo-vegetarians (eggs, no dairy) and lacto-ovo-vegetarians (eggs+diary products).
Part-Time Vegetarian comes to mind..
A person not fully committed to a cause but only when some personal circumstance allows; often but not all the time.
'Always unless Mom is cooking' maybe or 'Only on weekdays.'
I call myself a "part-time" vegetarian because, while I do eat meat, I like to eat vegetarian meals often.
Flexitarians: Can You Be a Part-Time Vegetarian? ..restaurants will someday offer enough meatless entrees to satisfy vegetarians whether they're part-time or 100 percent committed. ..
Collins Dictionary's status is pending. But it has defined eggetarian as
A vegetarian who also eats eggs and egg products.
Urban Dictionary defines eggetarian as,
A person who follows a near vegan diet but consumes eggs.
In India, we have strictly vegetarians and also vegetarians who started eating egg products. Those persons will be called eggetarians since even now, we consider egg as an item which is neither veg item nor a non-veg item.
No, there is not, at least to my knowledge.
The answers "semi-vegetarian", "flexitarian", "part-time vegetarian" all describe non-vegetarians. So do "carnivore" or "omnivore". As soon as a person easts meat, or fish, or meat on Sunday's, or salami on 23 November every year, they are not a vegetarian any more.
Being vegetarian is a binary case — either you never eat food that is made from animal parts, or you do. The description "I never eat animals, but only partly" makes no sense.
The wonders of diet lifestyles