Is it black's turn to move in chess, or is it blacks turn?

closed as off-topic by Mari-Lou A, pyobum, Mitch, NVZ, Dan Bron Feb 20 '17 at 13:47

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 8
    No, it's white's turn. ;) – Guffa Feb 14 '11 at 17:36

The turn belongs to the black side, so the possessive is called for: "It's black's turn."

  • Shouldn't it be 'Black's turn'? – TimLymington Jun 11 '11 at 17:41

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.